Ruth and churchianism

Yesterday I went to church (Whoa! he goes to church, yes, yes I do, leave your comments below). I attend a small, english-speaking congregation in a country where english is not the main language. This means, for example, that we don’t have a fixed pastor of minister, but instead a rotation of local ministers with heavy accents and varied theological positions. I appreciate that because it makes me think about the message more deeply in light of what I know.

Yesterday’s sermon was on Ruth (if you don’t know the whole story, it’s quite short, you can read it here). Basically there’s this family that moves out of Israel, the sons get married to foreigners, the father and the sons die, and the mother goes back to Isreal together with one of her daughters in law. Back in Israel the daughter in law, Ruth, sets out to take care of her mother in law and in doing so finds out a man to take her as a wife and “redeem” her and the name of her family.

So far, so good. Now, picture me, sitting in church, listening to the sermon. I must say it’s not the same going to church after opening oneself to the reality of feminism (post red pill). I knew the story pretty well, and in general the ministers we have are not so aligned with traditional “churchianism” so I wan’t prepared for what was to come. At some point the pastor starts telling how Boaz (the guy who marries Ruth after she comes to Israel) is a good example of a husband. No problem with that. But from there he started going in the direction of Christ as a husband, and I knew where he was going. No more than two minutes later he was adressin “all the men in this room, to treat your wives like they deserve, up to the point of giving your life for them” and so on and so forth. Maybe it was not as bad as Dalrock puts it here but it was dangerously close.

Given my experience in this congregation I was expecting a similar work to the women. How they should be like Ruth, diligent, submissive and willing to obey. After all, Ruth was not a career obsessed woman, nor was she riding the carousel (too many posts to link but you know what I’m speaking about). The way she came to get a husband is of course out of the time, but I expected some word to women on how they should be obedient, or submissive, or let the men take the lead. None of that. Instead just a long exhortation to men to take care, provide, and protect all females in their lives (the minister mentioned daughers, wives, girlfriends, but also friends and colleagues) without a single word for women to respect those men. I guess after all, feminism within the church is very advanced even in more conservative congregations, more than I would have thought before.

Leave a Reply

